Evolution of furniture

Posted: September 7, 2011 in Woodworking
Tags: , , , , ,

I may not build the most traditional pieces of furniture out there. I break a lot of rules and do things differently. That’s how I have always done it. I am not trying to imitate styles of the past. I am trying to push the limits of what is acceptable. That’s now how its always was. When I started I was very concerned about only using the best lumber and materials. I worked with only the highest materials. To some extent I still do. But as I evolve as a furniture maker I have realized something. Every piece does not have to be perfect and fit into a certain category. By understanding this I was set free as a artist. It allowed me to really evolve my skill set. I can step back and just break loose and get lost in my work and truly create art. I have come to a point where I cruise the streets for tossed out items and lumber. Anything that is destined for the landfill is a material I want to work with. I give these forgotten items a new lease on life. It truly brings me such a great feeling of accomplishment. As time goes on I go to the lumber yard less and the swap meets more. Lets see where this takes my work.

 

 

Leave a Reply

